The Student News Site of Paso Robles High School

Crimson Newsmagazine

Crimson Newsmagazine

Crimson Newsmagazine


This poll has ended.

What is your New Year's Resolution?


Sorry, there was an error loading this poll.

Newly Elected School Board Trustees Sworn In


After months of campaigning and close numbers in the polls, four newly elected school board trustees were sworn in on Dec. 13.

Seats for the school board were up for election in three areas, outlined by the former board’s recent redistricting motion. A fourth seat was also up for election at-large.

The at-large seat was won by candidate Laurene D. McCoy. The race for the at-large seat was tight, as McCoy had 39% of votes, just coming ahead of candidate Adelita Hiteshew who saw 37% of votes. 

In Area 1, Jim Cogan was elected with 48% of votes. 

The previous trustee for Area 1 was board president Chris Arend, and Nathan Williams will now step into the role as president of the school board. 

Joel Peterson ran unopposed in Area 2 to be automatically sworn in. Peterson previously served on the school board for eight years between 2013-2020. 

In Area 4, Sondra Williams was elected with 43% of votes.

On Dec. 13 each of the candidates were sworn in at the district office.

Photos by Joseph Taranto

Leave a Comment
Donate to Crimson Newsmagazine

Your donation will support the student journalists of Paso Robles High School. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
About the Contributor
Elise Mathers
Elise Mathers, Editor-in-Chief

Elise Mathers is in her third and final year as a Crimson staff member and is the new Editor-in-Chief this year. Previously she was involved in the News section, and continues now as Co-News Director, hoping to pursue newswriting in the future. She looks forward to expanding her leadership and a great senior crimson year.

Donate to Crimson Newsmagazine

Comments (0)

All Crimson Newsmagazine Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *